On In-Laws

My Father-in-law is here. He’s been here for about a week. I work from home, so we’ve been spending a LOT of time together.

Now some might be waiting for me to begin complaining. First, I’m a big complainer anyway, and second, it’s an in-law,  but no. You won’t find me complaining.

Some might recall that the night Bald Lover and I met, his mother passed away. I never met her, and I really wish I could have changed things, not only for the selfish reasons of me wanting to meet her, but also because it’s his mommy, and who wants to lose their mom?

So I haven’t had any in-laws – and some might appreciate that.

Without vomitting up his personal life story, I’ll just say that Bald Lover just met his dad in April of this year. To see the two of them put the past behind them and build this new father-son relationship is nothing short of a miracle. To be honest, I walk on thin ice in fear that it’s too good to be true, but certainly it isn’t. They’re two short bald men who are nearly identical all the way down to their penmanship.

It’s good to finally see where my husband came from. Not ever having the opportunity to meet his mother, and much of his other family being non-blood related means that often I would wonder where he got certain characteristics from.
He cleans a lot, like his dad. He has a high arched foot, like his dad, he goes stir crazy and wants to be doing something, like his dad. He’s a lady’s man, like his dad…and now I know where the snoring comes from.

I feel fortunate to have an in-law. And I know he definitely isn’t complaining about having a daughter-in-law, as awesome as I am. So I’m thinking this might just work out.

Above all, Bald Lover is getting some down time with his pops, and I’m absolutely sure he’s not complaining about that.

 

8 responses to “On In-Laws

  1. Sometimes I like my in-laws better than my own family!

  2. Aw they are too cute together! So glad that they have each other in their lives now.

  3. Aw, such a sweet post! Great picture too.

  4. Wow! Bald Lover’s dad is Santa Claus! (-;
    That’s some story.

  5. Family is so important – even in-laws – and I’m so happy BL had the opportunity to reunite with his Dad. Great pic (and wow – he DOES look like Santa!).

  6. Oh, that’s great news! It’s so good to hear of nice things happening to people. Congrats to you all.

  7. That’s wonderful that he gets to spend some time with his father. Family is important, and not many people get to spend time with theirs. Cherishable moments!

  8. I cant talk about my in-laws. So many are connected to me on facebook. I am having an in-law……..melt down like no other since my sudd-muffin convinced me to move back to his home town. In Gulfport, MS. unh huh. So glad to see a happy story though!

I get excited for your comments. Come on people, don't let me down!

