TGHIO

TGHIO

It stands for Thank God Halloween Is Over. It’s an all new acronym, feel free to use it if you hated Halloween as much as I did.

As I mentioned in this post I really dreaded Halloween.

My ex-husband handles that Holiday because of his insane love to spend moola to dress up and trick-or-treat with his best friend. I handle *all* of the rest of the holidays because I’m the mommy. Only this year, the ex-husband decides not to handle it because it’s on a week night and we live an hour away (an hour, so, like, not in another flipping state, but whatever, I will not rant).

Grace decided that at nearly 16 years old she’d go with her friends and watch movies and eat junk food – so she wasn’t home, and Doug was set to go to a meeting/event for his rehab. It was the set up for pure disaster. Just me and Gabby on the Holiday of shit.

Gabby was going to have a makeshift Halloween costume – as a cheerleader from hell, using her sisters former cheerleading outfit. It was a few notches down from the handmade costume that she had from her dad and (busted, name removed) (his girlfriend)..

 Her dad had planned take them costume shopping this past weekend if Bald Lover and I would pay him back, but baby daddy is a college student with a boat-load of homework so time ran out and we were making due.

It really looked like it would be a dreadful holiday, like all the Halloweens before.

But then Bald Lover bought three big bags of candy to pass out. I’ve never been able to pass out candy on Halloween. For 9 of the 14 years I lived in Tulsa, we had to go to the ex’sbest friend’s house so they could dress up together and trick or treat, consequently our house was always dark and undecorated (and often egged by angry trick-or-treaters).

And Bald Lover decided to stay home from his event to spend time with us — he walked WITH us and wasn’t preoccupied.

. And Gabby looked awfully pretty in her costume, if dead can be pretty and it didn’t cost us a thing.

 Trick-or-treating was fun, we saw neighbors, the weather was gorgeous, and our few trick-or-treaters were delightful. The dog barked and the candy was delicious, and Grace was home before curfew and suddenly Halloween wasn’t bad afterall.

And then it hit me. I don’t hate Halloween, I hate that I never created the opportunity to enjoy it for so many years. Being married to Bald Lover and in this great city has done something to me.

Halloween is a little more awesome.

Also, white chocolate peanut butter cups are to die for.

Can’t wait for next year.

11 responses to “TGHIO

  1. Angela (Nelson) Turnbull

    I’m glad you had a change of heart and had a little fun on Halloween!! 🙂

  2. Aw, so glad for the change of heart. Gabby makes a perfectly lovely undead.

  3. Glad you found a way to enjoy it this year. Also, Gabby is so beautiful. AND I must look out for this white chocolate peanut butter cup you speak of…

  4. I’m glad you could enjoy halloween this year!
    Do those names mean what I think they mean?

  5. The only things I hate about Halloween are that more & more houses don’t give out candy & all the costumes that fit me make me look like a skank.

  6. You should try the white chocolate Kit Kats! Those are the bombdizzle too!! You’re hubs (new not old) sounds like one awesome man! You are a lucky woman!! :^)

  7. She is a lovely zombified cheerleader! And …no! White chocolate peanut butter cups? I have not yet heard of that! Must try… going to search my kids’ bags now 😛

    I, too, have some holiday issues… mine is Thanksgiving. I hated it until about 3 years ago. Then I decided to make good memories on it. Much better 🙂

    Enjoy!

  8. Ah what a sweet ending! Glad you all enjoyed yourselves, don’t eat all the candy 🙂

  9. I mostly tolerate Halloween, MIGHT have a LITTLE bit of fun here and there. Glad yours didn’t suck afterall.

I get excited for your comments. Come on people, don't let me down!

