It’s the Small Things in Chicago…

While my husband and I make fairly regular trips to Chicago, a place we love to hang out – this year was the first year we’ve taken Grace and Gabby along with us. With all of the attractions, walking and fabulous things to do, there are a few simple things about our trip that I absolutely do not want to forget:

Snazzy Penuckle (pinochle): Well dressed guy plays  penuckle with himself under the bridge – upon further examination, he’s hitchhiking. Do people really still do that these days?

Shot Sized Dr. Pepper: I drink roughly 2ltrs of Dr. Pepper a day. So imagine my dismay when on a 11 hour road trip, I open the ice-chest and find that my husband has neatly stocked it with shot sized dr. pepper cans. 7oz. If you haven’t tried them yet, don’t. I didnt even taste it before I swallowed the whole can.

Tongue Tied daughter continuously says ObserB instead of Observe.

Plant-i-terium: 15 year old straight A student in AP classes states that she doesn’t want to go to the planetarium because it’s nothing but a bunch of plants.

Fried Rice: A special request from the eleven year old while sitting in a mexican food restaurant

Tonsillitis on the pier: Our abrupt end to a night on the pier when Gabby states that her throat hurts followed by showing me her swollen pus filled tonsils

Walking Man: Saying “walking man” before crossing the street in busy Chicago never gets old.

Cab Driver Gets Ear Full of Funny: My mildest mannered husband gives the cab driver an ear full when he narrowly misses swiping our daughter crossing the street while we had the walking man. ” A$$!…face?” he yells at the top of his lungs as random onlookers take notice that this father might be angry, or he might be asking the cabby if he’s an a$$ face.

The Southern Twang causing us to be asked if we were from Tennessee.

The most unsafe form of transportation — angry cab driver. 19 honks and 4 red lights later and we arrived safely. Cab rides are cheaper than tickets to ride a roller coaster.

Cubs Game Distraction: Grace and I can’t focus on the Cubs game, because the tall guy in front of us has rapidly moving ears and the distraction of watching his ears jump and wave is too much of a distraction.

It’s the little things in this big city that gave our family laughs and memories to giggle about forever.

One response to “It’s the Small Things in Chicago…

  1. Grace and Gabby! I love it!!!

I get excited for your comments. Come on people, don't let me down!

