I am the suck.

Brooke is sick. Though I fully expect her to feel 100% tomorrow, today wasn’t so good.

I took my class on a trip to the Tulsa Air and Space Museum. (saw kukura and poplin for those of you Cooper Elem. Readers)… while there Brooke suddenly, nearly like magic, began to run a high fever – so her grandmother came to get her until I could get my class back to the school.

As soon as I got back to the building and gave my awesome assistant directions on closing up the classroom I rushed as fast as you can rush through MUD to Brooke, got her home, dried off and in pajamas and sat like every mother does on the edge of her bed, worried while I watched the numbers rise on the thermometer 99.7, 100.2, 100.7, 101.4…and then I fell asleep. I’m not kidding. My daughter is laying there sick, I’ve got a thermometer stuck up to her shoulder through her armpit and I fell dead asleep on her bed for 45 minutes.

When I woke up Brooke said “you snored a little, and I couldn’t get my legs comfortable because you fell over on them so I just laid here like this.” And bless that sweet baby’s heart, the thermometer was still under her arm. Though it had turned off automatically, she’d held it there the way mommy says to “until I take it out myself”.

I am a mother full of suckage. I made up for it with extra kisses, good bubble gum flavored medication and lots of “I’m sorry”… I didn’t realize I was tired, but every time I get near a bed, I can’t resist the urge to just sleep..

I get excited for your comments. Come on people, don't let me down!

