Home-ish

My parents are buying a new house. Well – they’ve mostly bought it. It’s theirs. It’s at Keystone Lake. Of course, as with every home purchase, a few things hang in the balance – and you can’t really claim it as your own until the papers are signed.

I questioned if I could ever love the new house – afterall, they’re leaving the very house that I left home from. My bedroom is there, and my awards and pictures and other things still hang in various places in the house. It’s not the house I grew up in, No… but it’s home.

The new house is on 1.25 acres – it’s yard is enormous – and the shop/ garage is the size of my house – the home is quaint and of course, as it sits there empty of both furniture and memories, it can’t feel like “home” yet.

But as I sat on the front porch swing today with my mom it hit me that I want this place for them so intensely.

I may never call it “home” – but I pray that they will.

I get excited for your comments. Come on people, don't let me down!

