Friendship


As we walk our path of life,
We meet people everyday.
Most are simply met by chance.
But, some are sent our way.”

 

Today I’m thankful for my true friends -those who stand beside me when I’m going through a rough time, and stand up for me when I can’t. I’m thankful for those simple phone calls to check in and see what’s new, and those hours laughing and gossiping over drinks. I’m thankful for old friends who have returned to my life after lengthy gaps, and new friends that hold promise of great things. I’m thankful for nights spent learning to belly dance in our pajamas, and days spent watching our children go crazy while we try to have a simple lunch. I’m grateful for becoming a princess with a tiara for my birthday, and for buttery nipples, I’m grateful for prayers, prayer chains, and phone calls to see how the heart tests went. I’m thankful for friends who tuck my children into bed when I’m horribly ill and in bed. I’m thankful for friends who borrow my eggs to make me cake for my birthday, and friends who laugh at me because they know my life is nothing without comedy. I’m grateful for friends who sit in a corner at Barnes and Noble until midnight reading sex books with me just to make fun of them, and friends who scrapbook with me when I’m having an old woman moment. I’m thankful for friends who drive my car when I’m too tired, and friends who send me flowers when I’ve had a bad dental experience. I’m thankful for friends who help me clean out my house and have an estate sale, and for friends who encourage me to believe in myself. I’m grateful for friends who want to spend time with me, and friends who send me random text messages that make no sense at all. I’m thankful for friends who are proud of who I am, and not embarrassed or ashamed of our friendship, I’m thankful for those friends who know not to call at 8 on a Thursday because my favorite show is on, but cause my phone to ring off the wall at 9PM. I’m thankful for friends who let me experience their pregnancies, knowing I can’t have more of my own. I’m thankful for friends who are true, who know that there is no need to put up a front, friends who call because they care, not because they feel obligated, friends that love and accept my children and my husband, my religion and my political views, my failures and my successes, my immaturity and my occassional old-ass bitterness, friends who appreciate that I’m outspoken and well aware that I’m a loose cannon and you never know what ludicrous thing may come from my mouth.

This first week of Thanksgiving, I’m thankful for friendship, you know who you are, I thank God for you and I pray that I can be the same kind of blessing in your life.

I get excited for your comments. Come on people, don't let me down!

